Life is all about seizing the moment and being happy.

Summer in China(3 )

 

     On one Sunday my mom took me to The Postal hospital to see some of her old friends.

    Back to June the 4th 1989, thousands college students were having a demonstration for democracy
    in Tiananmen Square and lots of them refused to eat anything, so the nurses in The Postal Hospital
    sent medical supplies to the students in Tiananmen Square.

    I was in Beijing when that happened. During that time, I couldn’t even cross Changan Street, on these
    days, the street was packed with cars and trucks as barricade….

    ……

    It was my plan to visit my previous school, The 2nd Beijing Experimental School, one of the most famous
    schools in Beijing.

 


         I was so happy that most of my old classmates were there.

    In my memory, the school was really old, the classroom once I was in, is over 100 years old, and some
    times a big piece of wall paper fell off the wall.

    I was glad to see that the school had built a new cafeteria in the place where my old classroom was.


My teacher said that I had changed and matured a lot.

   In China, most of the elementary school students have a lots of homeworks and sometimes they even
   couldn’t complete in until eleven o’clock at night.

   …..

   After two weeks, I was on my way to Hangzhou with my mom. We were traveling by train which was not
   so good, especially the washroom.

   In Canada, a few people taking the train for long distance traveling, but in China, railway is the major way
   for transportation.We were taking the number 13 carriage. You might think it is unlucky, but in happened
   to be the first Class carriage on the train.

   Most people just took regular carriage that dose not have air condition, so it is really uncomfortable to be
  in the train like that, because when it is more than 30 degrees outside, inside the train maybe 35 degrees.

   In the morning, the radio of the train announced that everybody should get up now, then I looked at my
   watch, it says 6:00 am. The breakfast was served at 7:00 am that is half an hour earlier than the time I
   get up on a regular school day in Canada.

   No wonder they call China " the land of the rising SUN".

   ……

   END

    儿子的《Summer in China》应该是曾经读过的,但淡忘了。现在回头再读,记忆亦随着过滤了一遍。
        一路还去了上海、承德避暑山庄,多半属景点介绍,就不贴了。

10 responses

  1. linger

    哇~回国期间还遇到了那场政治风波?
    对母校的印象还是很清晰的哦! 

    August 17, 2007 at 12:45 am

  2. Rong

    温故知新! 

    August 17, 2007 at 3:27 am

  3. Y N

    苓儿出国前的他,在学校里有些小名气哦。那女老师是他当年的班主任,记得儿子还挺怕她呢,呵 呵○(#‵︿′#)○ 戎温故知新的感觉就是好 ^ _ ^还有那种被信赖、依托的感觉,呵,真好!(~__~)如今的他,有点“老气横秋” * _ ^

    August 17, 2007 at 7:42 am

  4. Shu

     
    6-4期间,我的智商还停留在看变形金刚的水准。话说回来,我对政治从来就不感兴趣,如同Russ对历史不感冒一般。
     
    Boy your son\’s been doing a lot of traveling ever since a young age eh.  Good for him.  I\’ve always thought traveling is one of the ultimate way to experience life, and people.
     
     

    August 17, 2007 at 9:26 am

  5. 铃铛

     照片的邮票和邮戳风格好有特色~
    有一种遥寄的感觉~

    August 17, 2007 at 10:54 am

  6. Y N

    Some history about wars and things like that should never be
    forgotten in respect for those that lost their lives…

    August 17, 2007 at 2:38 pm

  7. Y N

    苓儿
    忘了补上一句,六四时他还在北京,之后一个人飞了半个地球来到我身边的。
    呵呵,怪我删除了些某些“激烈”的章节。^ _ ^

    杨树
    记得在那时有个变形金刚玩玩,算是很富有的了。
    彼此彼此,当在我上下左右一片红时,我,还是我。不是不想进步,只是有那么点“私心”。 * _ ^
    铃铛
    谢谢。这也是刚学的,嘿嘿,有时也会自乐一把。
    你的“香甜坊” 让我羡慕不己。有空向你请教!

    August 17, 2007 at 7:46 pm

  8. Y N

    RussYeah, I think that is an emotional response to those who lost their lives during the war…

    August 17, 2007 at 7:49 pm

  9. ECHO

     
    Did your son catch anything have been changed to better?^_^
    I hope you guys are getting comfortable on the second trip.
    Have a good weekend.🙂
     

    August 18, 2007 at 2:06 am

  10. Y N

    echoHe has been to China several times since then…
    Overall, China has been changed to better than expected…
    Some service improvements have made our trips more enjoyable…
    Then there are alway some BUT, …
    Well, what else can you do?!
    I think that TIMING is everything, right? * _ ^

    August 18, 2007 at 8:48 pm

Leave a Reply

