Life is all about seizing the moment and being happy.

Summer in China(1 )

                     在翻箱倒柜时,掏出一本好早以前儿子第一次回国写下的《Summer in China》。。。
                     翻了几页,觉得又回到了那时的年代,那时的心情,多少有些新鲜感。
                     问儿是否同意摘录几段,他似乎对当时写作的文法不适显出为难,说等修改后再贴。
                     “嗨,要的就是那时候的你,一字不改,原汁原味或许更好”。
                     呵,“提议”被通过了。

 When I first arrived at Shanghai airport, the " Easter Door of China" , I could tell the difference between
 China and Canada right away. Boy! I have never seen such crowd people for almost  three years.

 When we were at the custom, my mother had to get HIV test. It cost twenty Canadian dollars and only took
 one minute to get the result. My mom had a feeling that the whole thing was a fake, because even in the
 world’s most advanced system there is no one can have the result in one minute and the cost will be about
 one hundred US dollars.

 There was a person who had at least 5,000 Renminbi ( Chinese Dollars ) in his hand and asked everybody
 if someone want to exchange some US dollars to Renminbi at a price of higher than the bank exchange rate
 for their HIV test. At that time the price of Renminbi had really dropped a lot. There are less than 100 HIV
 cases found in China until now.

 I had really gotten plane sick during the flight from Vancouver to Shanghai, because I was just sitting in front
 of the big movie screen for three hours, so it really gave me a headache.

 When the plane landed in Beijing Airport, I had a feeling that it did not land on the runway because it seems
 landed on the sideway.

 Then I was on my way home with my family in Beijing, I noticed Beijing had changed quiet a lot.

 I saw there were small yellow vans beginning to appear on the street, so I asked my family’s driver about
 those vans , and he told me that those are " Taxis". I was surprised at how many of them, the yellow vans
 take almost one third of total number of the taxis in Beijing, it is quiet a lot. He also told me that these yellow
 vans do not have a very good quality, they have been produced all over the country, and they could barely
 survive a car accident, but some Chinese like to take a ride in those vans, because it is cheap.

 There are 1.3 billion people in China and if everyone has a car, like what’s in Canada, then China must have
 to times more road facility than what we have in here.It will cost lots of money and it is impossible to have
 enough space for 1.3 billion people to live.

                                                                                                                                                                                  

13 responses

  1. Shu

    Quite a different perspective from a young adult\’s point of view.
     
    I find his description of plane sick to be absolutely hilarious.  Haha!  Plane landing on the sideways, that\’s classic!
     
    How old is your son now, if you don\’t mind.  Sorry I am just curious.
     

    August 12, 2007 at 11:49 pm

  2. Rong

    今非昔比…… 

    August 13, 2007 at 5:55 am

  3. Y N

    FDIf you have a question I have a answer… * _ ^Rong呵呵,他的路还长着的呢。。。

    August 13, 2007 at 8:54 am

  4. Y N

    那年他是 Grade 6,呵呵,第一次回国感受万分呀。。。

    August 13, 2007 at 9:07 am

  5. Shu

    Boy.  My mom apparently kept my essays from Grade 6 as well, haha, I guess all moms do that.
     

    August 13, 2007 at 8:10 pm

  6. linger

    观察很细微哦~ *_^

    August 13, 2007 at 8:19 pm

  7. Y N

    F D这可绝对是宝贝哟!苓儿还记得当飞机快降落时,儿子好激动地紧紧贴着机窗,泪水盈转,连我都两眼潮湿。这是第一次回国,那股游子归来交织的复杂心情来得是那么强烈啊。谁知一下飞机,儿子去厕所没有手纸处与狼狈之中,两腿被蚊子咬得通红。当急着找妈妈时,却发现我被划为 HIV “可疑”人群里,就因为当时拿的是中国护照。可恶的是,如你持香港、台湾护照即可免检,大大方方地踏进中华人民共和国国土。唉, 120%满腔的爱国热情被“沉重”地泼上一盆凉水, 从头冰到脚哟!

    August 13, 2007 at 9:26 pm

  8. linger

    当爱国热情和民族自尊遭遇尴尬时…
    我去欧洲旅行时,曾因为自己同胞的不文明举动而受株连,那时候真希望自己所持的不是中华人民共和国护照…
     

    August 14, 2007 at 3:05 am

  9. 老歪

    Where are you now?
    and, How old is your son?  

    August 14, 2007 at 9:57 am

  10. 青青草

     很可爱的小文。

    August 14, 2007 at 10:24 am

  11. Y N

    苓儿你的感受,我能理解。因为我们的骨子里永远流着的是中国人的血,是一种不愿被人瞧不起的自尊维护吧。
    呵呵,“悲惨”的是,当再次踏入家乡时,他们莫名其妙地扣了我的加籍护照,并神秘地递交上方,经一番特殊细查,约半小时后才还给了我。从他们的左右横扫的眼神看,是将我嫌为“间谍”了。这回呀,我可是狠狠地 “发话” 了。。。^_*青青草呵呵,下回带你儿子回国,也可写些什么的。。。

    August 14, 2007 at 8:13 pm

  12. Y N

    老歪多谢来访!
    我想在这里已回答你的问题了,是不? * _ ^

    August 14, 2007 at 8:15 pm

  13. ECHO

     
    今天在你家待了很久,看了看你以前的“照片”和“记录”^_^
    那些照片够水准有感觉。
    是我喜欢的日子与记录。
     
    儿子写的东西果然natural,
    ……….Have a nice trip.
     
     

    August 15, 2007 at 9:19 am

Leave a Reply

