Life is all about seizing the moment and being happy.

What do you think?

 

This is my PREVIOUS design.

 

After I took 《 My 101》course and realized that contrasts create visual interest.

Take a look at the simple color wheel, note the colors that are opposite one another:

A color wheel shows how colors relate to one another.

 

Red and green together and blue and orange together create a kind of optical illusion.

 

                So, I used this principle of color contrast to combine different colors and created
                                                                    a NEW LOGO.

what do you think?

Better or not?

**************************************************

After receiving the advices from my instructor, I edited the image again.

 

Wow, it made my new LOGO looks quite different !

I like it very much, and you?

Joanna, you are a such knowledgeable teacher !!!

 

   Thanks Joanne! You are my favorite instructor in 《 My 101》.

Here is something about her:

Joanne Watkins has more than 15 years of experience as a professional graphic designer. She is an associate professor in the Applied Graphic Design Technology department of Collin Community College. Computer graphics, desktop publishing, business presentations, and Web design are among the subjects she teaches. She also enjoys digital and traditional photography, and has won several awards in these areas.

 

 And you are right, FD.  Font: Bold  really makes the text stand out. Thanks lot!

 

 

13 responses

  1. Rong

    我喜欢blue and orange… Good job.
     
    色彩鲜艳的使我瞌睡的眼睛又睁大了!

    June 17, 2007 at 6:31 pm

  2. Y N

     
    I like the new one, all the words  are popped, even I can not read Chinese.
     
     
     

    June 17, 2007 at 8:13 pm

  3. Y N

     
    Hello YN. I am glad you learned a lot from the class. I do think your new design is improved. I do like the color of the characters against the green leaf. Here two suggestions. Rotate the type on the green leaf so that it is the same angle as the mid-vien of the leaf and keep it on the darker side of the leaf for even more contrast. The text in the lower right is a little difficult to read. Try moving it below the main image or experiment with it on a curve inside the blue circle. GOOD JOB! Your Instructor
     

    June 17, 2007 at 8:46 pm

  4. Y N

     
    I am surprised to have your reply so quickly.
    Those two suggestions are very good.
    For some reason I am not able to edit the green leaf ( they are not layered ), but I followed your instruction to edit the text part, I did it with a curve inside the blue circle. it is my first time to try using the warp text, then it turned out so nice! Then I adjusted color  and made the image more darker…
    What do you think now?
    Thank you very very much, Joanne!
     
     

    June 17, 2007 at 9:29 pm

  5. Shu

     
    This new design appears to me very much.
     
    #1 Colors stand out really well.
     
    #2 Dropping of the lotus photograph in the background leaves only abstract objects in the artwork.  Cleaner look.  Less distractive.
     
    Good work YN =)
     
     

    June 17, 2007 at 11:18 pm

  6. Y N

     
    嗯,你说的有道理,不愧是搞设计的。*_^
    Less is more! 千真万确呵。
     
    想将你就是你的位置再调整下,不知是否好看?
     

    June 18, 2007 at 8:51 am

  7. Shu

    Hmm.  You may consider using the Bold version of that font, to make the 你就是你 stand out.  Also, is it
     
    你,就是你!
     
    or
     
    你。。。就是你。
     
    or
     
    你就是你
     

    June 18, 2007 at 9:22 am

  8. Y N

     
    Is it better ?
     
     

    June 18, 2007 at 11:39 am

  9. Y N

     

    Hello YN,I really like the curved text. Not only does it use the color contrast but used repetition of the shapes. EXCELLENT !

    June 18, 2007 at 11:10 pm

  10. Shu

    There you go, now there is a natural break in the line =)
     

    June 18, 2007 at 11:20 pm

  11. Y N

     
     A beautifully laid-out!
     
     

    June 19, 2007 at 10:29 am

  12. Y N

     

    After did several trying I realized that if you use the right tool at the right place, then you can create stunning visual effects. 
    Here I am going to say, thanks all of you for giving advice and suggestions…
     

    June 19, 2007 at 10:45 pm

  13. Y N

    Hello YN, You are quite welcome and thanks for the compliment.

    June 20, 2007 at 1:55 pm

Leave a Reply

