Life is all about seizing the moment and being happy.

冬的纪录

         Couldn’t remember how many times I have been in Niagara Falls, but only one thing I wouldn’t forget is — the magic of Niagara Falls is very special and unique during the winter . It always reminds me to go there especially if there is snow.

         Not thinking winter was coming made me realize how much I missed it.

         With the fair-weather we drove to Niagara falls, it was not too cold actually and only had a little snow. The snow came down so light and dry, it felt like sugar or baby powder. Ha, I didn’t sweep it off, since I have been waiting for the snow so long, also feel relieved that winter finally has come…

         However the park was so quiet, only few people braving cold like us. I felt so good and enjoyed all the beauty of the area as if it’d been created just for me. Especially since there was nobody else around (I mean nobody!) to block my view .

        But only one thing bothered me was — my favorite  was not functioning so I had to use old one ( all the  were not as good as I expected).

 

       Except for the falling water itself, the snow covered everywhere — trees, rocks and lamp posts, and formed unique frozen shapes which added a dimensional beauty to Niagara Falls.

 

     View of the horseshoe-shaped Canadian side of Niagara Falls – the most photographed waterfall in the world. The air is thick with the ever-present mist…, crust over the rushing water!  It really makes for quite a sight!

    Sure is, you can not get an up-close view like this in the summertime and also the serenity would never be achieved like now.  

 

     The falling water and mist created ice formations along the falls and river. It was so beautiful, messy or sparkling. I could feel the raw power of gravity, also nothing could be heard expected for the rumbling sound of the falling water " WOWOWO"!!!

     When closed enough I felt the fine mist gentle touched my face, I simply just closed my eyes, tried to tast and smell the misty air, wow!  It made me feel so fresh…

 

       I have always wondered why the water has never stopped flowing even the river freezes up during the extra-harsh winter — Oh well, I searched the web and found only in 1911 the flow of water was halted for few hours due to the long ice in the upper river.

      One thing is certain: Visiting Niagara Falls during winter, the awesome power and spectacular winter views forged a lasting mental image that will stays with me forever.

 

8 responses

  1. Rong

    Beautiful compose ! I do not need look the pictures, I would imagine how beautiful it is!
     
    actual, no pictures there. 

    February 1, 2007 at 10:17 am

  2. Y N

    What? WUUUUUUUUUUUUUUU!
    I can see it here, no problem.  Anyway, I\’d better to do something, thanks let me know it!

    February 1, 2007 at 11:06 am

  3. Rong

    nice job!

    February 1, 2007 at 11:29 am

  4. Y N

     
    Exceptional one of a kind!
     
     

    February 2, 2007 at 1:03 pm

  5. mei

    哎呀,几天没来,做的片片很好看哩.
    原来冬天也可以看大瀑布

    February 2, 2007 at 6:11 pm

  6. Y N

     
    In my opinion, the real secret of the beauty and terror of the Niagara Falls is not their height or width, but the feeling of colossal power and of unintelligible disaster caused by the plunge of that vast body of water. Think about that if that were taken away, there would be little visible change, but the heart would be gone.
     
     
     
     

    February 4, 2007 at 3:37 pm

  7. Y N

     
    Yeah, like your photos very much!
     
     

    February 4, 2007 at 3:41 pm

  8. youjun

    记不得有多长时间没有去访尼亚加拉大瀑布啦,只是有一件事情我是永远都不会忘记的――整个加拿大的冬天,只有尼亚加拉大瀑布依然那么特殊地奔流下来,她常常提醒着我,即使在冬日飘雪的时候,依然想要去看她。
    没有意料到就已经来临的冬天,让我意识到对她地思念有多深。
    我选了个天气尚好的日子驱车前往尼亚加拉大瀑布。真的好冷,天上还有零星的小雪花。飘落的雪花轻盈而又干燥,她让我感觉像白沙糖,抑或是像婴儿的爽身粉。真的,我一点儿都不想掸掉她,因为她让我等待得太久了。她让我真正地感觉到冬季的来临……
    然而,公园是那么静悄悄的,毕竟想我这样勇敢的游客只有少数。我感觉很好,特别是当我周围没有一个人来妨碍我时,我便深深地沉浸在这仿佛为我独自设计的艺术境界里。
    但是唯一的遗憾是我得最爱――数码相机没有拍摄功能,我只能悻悻地用老相机,当然效果没有我所期望的那么好……
     
    I have to read your Web step by step. I find that it is so nice to read the friend\’s feeling of the nature.  Tonight I have some time to traslate your another essay into the Chinese. I don\’t know if it is better or not. Hope you give me some help. Anyway I like to read your feeling of life.

    April 29, 2007 at 9:58 am

Leave a Reply

